Aqara Outdoor Plug H2 EU: Thread or Zigbee? A Home Assistant Buyer's Guide

Aqara Outdoor Plug H2 EU: Thread or Zigbee? A Home Assistant Buyer's Guide

Every autumn the same question lands in our inbox: which smart plug can safely run the garden lights, the pond pump or the patio heater, and still show up properly in Home Assistant? Aqara's new Outdoor Plug H2 EU (model SP-P06E) is the most interesting answer in a while, because it is one of the few outdoor plugs that lets you pick the radio: Matter over Thread or Zigbee. That choice is not cosmetic. It decides which features you get, which hub you need and how cleanly the plug lands in Home Assistant. This guide walks through that decision first, then puts the H2 EU against the three outdoor alternatives a European buyer will realistically compare it with.

Key takeaways

  • The Aqara Outdoor Plug H2 EU is a 16 A / 3,680 W, IP44 Schuko-style plug with energy monitoring, listed at €32.99 on Aqara's EU store.
  • In Thread mode it joins any Matter controller with a Thread border router, Home Assistant included, with no Aqara hub.
  • In Zigbee mode it needs an Aqara hub but unlocks extras: configurable power limit, LED control and device-removal protection.
  • IKEA's TOFSMYGGA is the budget Thread rival; Shelly's Outdoor Plug S Gen3 is the Wi-Fi option; Eve Energy Outdoor is a hard-wired socket for an electrician.
  • For Home Assistant users without an Aqara hub, Thread mode is the sensible default.

The real decision: Thread mode or Zigbee mode?

According to Aqara's official product page, the plug supports Thread, Zigbee and Bluetooth LE (the latter for setup). You switch between the two network modes according to your setup, but the feature set is not identical in each. Aqara is unusually transparent about this with footnotes, so we turned them into a table.

FeatureThread mode (Matter)Zigbee mode (Aqara hub)
Hub requiredNo Aqara hub; a Matter controller with Thread border routerYes, an Aqara Zigbee hub
Works with Apple Home, Google Home, Alexa, SmartThings, Home AssistantYes, natively via MatterYes, via the hub's Matter bridge
On/off, timersYesYes
Real-time power and consumptionAdvertised, but Aqara does not detail what each Matter platform displaysYes, with daily/monthly charts in Aqara Home
Configurable maximum power limitNoYes
LED indicator configuration and LED in automationsNot yet ("coming in a future update")Yes
Device-removal protectionNoYes
Child lock on the physical buttonNot specified by AqaraYes, configurable in Aqara Home

Two details matter for planning. First, Aqara says the plug remains backward compatible with its classic Zigbee hubs, and German tech site Caschys Blog reports that the hub needs firmware 4.5.20 or later. Second, the same report notes that Aqara does not officially support third-party Zigbee stacks such as Zigbee2MQTT or generic USB dongles. When we checked the Zigbee2MQTT Aqara converter file this morning, the SP-P06E was not listed yet. So if your Zigbee network runs on ZHA or Zigbee2MQTT rather than an Aqara hub, do not count on Zigbee mode today.

What the hardware actually promises

Strip away the marketing and the official spec sheet is solid for a €33 device:

  • Rating: 100–240 V AC, 50/60 Hz, 16 A, maximum 3,680 W total.
  • Weather: IP44 (splashing water, solids larger than 1 mm), with the caveat that the plug you insert must itself be IP44-rated to keep that protection.
  • Climate: operates from −20 °C to 50 °C, 0–95 % RH non-condensing.
  • Size: Ø 55 × 100.8 mm.
  • Protection: automatic cut-off on overload or when the internal temperature reaches 80 °C.
  • Standby: no more than 0.4 W.
  • Charging protection: when enabled, it switches off after 30 minutes below 3 W, which suits battery chargers for mowers and e-bikes.

Aqara sells a standard model and an RGB version with a multicolour ring around the button, through different channels; check which one a listing actually offers. The standard model is listed on Amazon in Germany, France, Spain and Italy according to HomeKit News.

How it compares with Europe's other outdoor smart plugs

We compared the H2 EU with three products that solve the same problem in Europe, using each manufacturer's own specifications. Prices are the ones published by the official store or retailer at the time of writing.

Aqara Outdoor Plug H2 EUIKEA TOFSMYGGAShelly Outdoor Plug S Gen3Eve Energy Outdoor
TypePlug-in adapterPlug-in adapterPlug-in adapterHard-wired outdoor socket
RadioThread or Zigbee (+ BLE)ThreadWi-Fi + BluetoothThread
MatterYes (Thread mode)YesYes (over Wi-Fi)Yes
Max load16 A / 3,680 W16 A / 3,680 W resistive, 300 W motor12 A / 2,500 W resistive16 A / 3,680 W peak, 10 A / 2,300 W continuous
ProtectionIP44IP44 (lid closed or IP44 plug)IP44IP44 with cover flap
Operating temperature−20 to 50 °C−25 to 40 °C−25 to 51 °C−25 to 40 °C
Energy monitoringYesYesYesYes
Home Assistant routeMatter (Thread) or Aqara hub bridgeMatter (Thread)Native local Shelly integration or MatterMatter (Thread)
Price seen€32.99 (Aqara EU store)€12.99 (IKEA DE), €15 (IKEA IT)€31.90 (Shelly EU store)Not listed on Eve's product page

A few things jump out. IKEA's TOFSMYGGA matches the Aqara on rated load for less than half the price, and its manual is explicit about a 300 W limit for motor loads, which is exactly the figure you need for a pond or pool pump. The Shelly Outdoor Plug S Gen3 tops out at 12 A / 2,500 W, so it is the wrong pick for a 3 kW patio heater, but it has the widest temperature range and the most mature local integration. Eve Energy Outdoor is a different animal: a permanent wall socket that Eve says must be installed by an authorised electrician, with a 10 A continuous rating that is lower than its 16 A peak.

Getting it into Home Assistant: three routes

  1. Thread mode via Matter (recommended for most). You need the Matter integration and a working Thread border router (an OpenThread border router on a Connect ZBT-2, or an Apple/Google border router whose credentials Home Assistant knows). Commission the plug from the Home Assistant companion app. If the plug exposes its power measurement over Matter (Aqara does not list the clusters), readings appear as sensors you can feed into the Energy dashboard's individual devices. Since Home Assistant 2026.10, Matter devices that measure power also report frequency and power factor.
  2. Zigbee mode through an Aqara hub, bridged with Matter. Pair the plug to the Aqara hub, then expose it to Home Assistant through the hub's Matter bridge. You keep the Aqara-only features in the Aqara app, but the hub becomes a dependency, and bridged devices typically surface fewer controls than in the vendor app.
  3. Zigbee mode on ZHA or Zigbee2MQTT. Not supported by Aqara and not in Zigbee2MQTT's device list at the time of writing. Treat it as experimental until a converter appears.

One potential bonus: mains-powered Thread devices are usually built as routers (Eve explicitly says its Energy Outdoor is a Full Thread Device; Aqara does not specify for the H2 EU). Placing one on an outside wall can strengthen coverage for battery-powered Thread sensors in the garden, a point we unpacked in our Zigbee vs Matter over Thread analysis.

Outdoor pitfalls nobody prints on the box

  • IP44 is not waterproof. It covers splashes, not puddles or jets. Mount the socket under a canopy where possible, and remember the IP rating only holds with an IP44 plug inserted (Aqara) or the lid closed (IKEA).
  • Motor loads are not resistive loads. Pumps and compressors draw inrush current. IKEA caps motor loads at 300 W; Aqara and Shelly do not publish a separate motor figure, so leave margin.
  • Heaters stress everything. A 2–3 kW patio heater runs near the limit of a 16 A plug for hours. Check your outdoor circuit and avoid coiled extension reels.
  • Check the temperature window. IKEA and Eve stop at 40 °C, Aqara at 50 °C and Shelly at 51 °C, while Aqara's floor is −20 °C against −25 °C for the others. A dark south-facing wall in July or an exposed balcony in a mountain winter can exceed those limits.

Who should buy which?

  • Home Assistant user with Thread already running: IKEA TOFSMYGGA if price is king and loads are modest; Aqara H2 EU if you want the option to move it to an Aqara hub later.
  • Aqara household with a recent hub: the H2 EU in Zigbee mode is the natural fit, with the load limit as a genuinely useful safety feature for heaters.
  • Wi-Fi-only home, no border router: Shelly Outdoor Plug S Gen3, which integrates locally and supports scripting (scripting is disabled when Matter is enabled, per Shelly's documentation).
  • Renovating a terrace: Eve Energy Outdoor, installed by a professional, avoids a dangling adapter altogether.

Our verdict

The H2 EU is not the cheapest outdoor plug and it is not the most powerful. Its value is flexibility: it is a Thread device for any Matter platform today, with an exit route into Aqara's richer Zigbee ecosystem tomorrow. For Rocks readers running Home Assistant, our advice is simple: start in Thread mode, track your pump or heater consumption in the Energy dashboard, and only reach for an Aqara hub if you need the power limit. If you live in North America, the closest equivalent we covered is the Onvis outdoor Thread plug; and if you still need a Thread border router, start with our guide to the best Matter hubs. Aqara's Thread hardware is on a roll this month, as the U600 lock also showed.

FAQ

Does the Aqara Outdoor Plug H2 EU need an Aqara hub?

No, not in Thread mode. You need a Matter controller with a Thread border router, which Home Assistant, Apple Home, Google Home, Alexa and SmartThings setups can provide. Zigbee mode requires an Aqara Zigbee hub.

Can I use it with Zigbee2MQTT or ZHA?

Not officially. Aqara does not support third-party Zigbee stacks for this plug, and it was not listed in Zigbee2MQTT's Aqara converters when we checked on October 20, 2026. Use Thread mode with Home Assistant instead.

Can it run a pool pump or a patio heater?

It is rated 16 A / 3,680 W, so a heater within that rating is in spec, and Aqara's own examples include pool pumps and heaters. For pumps, leave a margin for start-up current, and in Zigbee mode set a power limit.

Is IP44 enough to leave it out in the rain?

IP44 protects against splashing water from any direction, not immersion or jets. A sheltered wall is best, and the connected plug must be IP44-rated to keep the protection.

What is the difference with IKEA TOFSMYGGA?

Both are 16 A Thread plugs with energy monitoring. TOFSMYGGA is cheaper and states a 300 W motor-load limit; the Aqara adds Zigbee mode, a higher heat ceiling (50 °C against 40 °C) and Aqara-hub extras such as a configurable power limit.